Verlander is the player of the year according to the AJLMB

NEW YORK, USA – The Detroit Tigers ace Justin Verlander was voted Player of the Year in a vote of the Players Association Major League Baseball (AJLMB), becoming the second pitcher achieve this honor.

Verlander beat the first goal of the Boston Red Sox Adrian Gonzalez and outfielder for the New York Yankees Curtis Granderson for the title of selection of players, unveiled on Thursday. The only other pitcher to win this honor was Pedro Martinez, with the Red Sox in 1999.

Verlander made ​​a record of 24-5 with an earned run average of 2.40 and 250 strikeouts, leading the American League in all three categories.

The Colorado Rockies outfielder Carlos Gonzalez had won the title last year.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS