Entertainment Sports

ESPY: Nowitzki, Mavs take big honors

LOS ANGELES, U.S. – Dirk Nowitzki won two trophies, including male athlete of the year  and the Mavericks were chosen as the best team Wednesday night at the ESPY Awards.

Nowitzki also won the title of best player in the NBA, while Rick Carlisle was named coach par excellence, who has guided the Mavericks to their first NBA title.

On Wednesday the presentation of the ESPY Awards took place at Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles and the ceremony was hosted by actor Seth Green in the show “Saturday Night Live.”

The Olympic gold medalist Lindsey Vonn was named female athlete for the second straight year, while the Boston Bruins goaltender Tim Thomas and Philadelphia Phillies pitcher Roy Halladay won two awards each.

A quarter of Green Bay Packers Aaron Rodgers (NFL player par excellence), Blake Griffin of the Los Angeles Clippers (new athlete who made ​​the strongest impression) Rafael Nadal (tennis player male par excellence) and Serena Williams (women’s tennis player par excellence) all won individual honors.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS