Carl Lewis at the Hall of Fame Athletics

Istanbul – The International Federation of Athletics (IAAF) has created a Hall of Fame will host Jesse Owens, Carl Lewis and Fanny Blankers-Koen first among its 12 members.

The new Hall of Fame, created as part of the 100th anniversary of the International Federation, has a vintage original 24 athletes.

The identity of the other 12 admitted will be unveiled later this year before the Centennial Gala on November 24 in Barcelona.

The eligibility criteria are that athletes must have won at least two Olympic gold medals or world championships and they must have made ​​at least one world record. They must be retired for a minimum period of 10 years.

The other members are chosen Abebe, Paavo Nurmi, Emil Zatopek, Al Oerter, Adhemar da Silva, Ed Moses, Betty Cuthbert, Jackie Joyner-Kersee and Wang Junxia.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS