What is an antidepressant?

There are four classes of antidepressants. They are classified according to their molecular structure and their mode of action.

– The tricyclics. These drugs inhibit the reuptake of several neurotransmitters (norepinephrine, serotonin, dopamine);

– The selective inhibitors of serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) and inhibitors of the reuptake of serotonin and noradrenaline (NA-IRS). SSRIs act as their name suggests, only by inhibiting the reuptake of serotonin present at the synapse. As for IRS-NA, they also act by inhibiting that of noradrenaline;

– The monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs selective or not). This class of drugs prevents the action of two enzymes: mono-amino-oxidase A (MAO A) and mono-amino-oxidase type B (MAO B). One and the other are known to destroy the neurotransmitters;

– Antidepressants with pharmacological mechanism is different. Antidepressants in this family do not have mechanisms of action. However, all act on the synapses and / or neurons, to increase the level of some neurotransmitters involved in depression.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS